2019 Utah Handball Association (UHA) State Doubles results

The 2019 Utah State Doubles took place at the Sports Mall in Murray last Friday and Saturday.  Forty two players from five states participated in several divisions, and the weekend wrapped up with a fabulous banquet honoring Hall of Fame inductee Steve Apple.

Multiple-time state champ Kevin Price (Grand Junction, CO) teamed up with Trevor Bachman (Grand Junction, CO) to win the eight team Open/Contender division.  Price/Bachman handled last year’s champs Jim Karner and Zac McManus in one semifinal (21-3, 21-17), while Gary Scogin/John Wainright defeated Sonny Roberts/Ryan Campbell in the other semi, 21-8, 21-14.  Price/Bachman then rolled to the title over Scogin/Wainright, 21-11, 21-6.  Carson Taysom (Pocatello, ID) and Chris Torres (Heber, UT) prevailed over Matt Stalsberg/Rob Sylvester 21-8, 21-4, to take the dropdown Contender title, and AJ Allan/Bryce Brown squeaked by Ted McManus/Danny Picos in an 11-9 tiebreaker to take third place in the Contenders.

The A/B dropdown division had seven teams and SLC’s own Jason McDonald/Nick Reynolds were the class of the division. J. Mac/Reynolds bested Taylor Scott/Danny Picos in one semi while J. Payne/M. Jensen disposed of Ruben Garza/Chuck Bieckel in the other. J. Mac/Reynolds then defeated Payne and Jensen in the A final, 21-13, 21-18.  In the dropdown B, Utah State guys Herm Olsen and L. Jensen worked through Scott/Picos in the semis and then defeated Stacey Marble/B. Kimber in the final, 21-4, 21-10.  Scott/Picos garnered third place in the Bs by ousting J. Jensen/M. Williams.

The 60 Doubles was a round robin featuring four teams.  Steve Bell (Reno, NV) and Dan Passolt (Fargo, ND) dominated the bracket by winning all three of their matches without losing a game.  Dan Price and C. Bolling came in second place.

Lastly, there was also a three team Novice round robin.  Utah State’s Chris Isaacson and Manuel Santana came in first place over Jesse Cowley/Brandon Davidson (second place) and Alex Leopardi/Dan Lewis (third place).

Thanks to Ted McManus (president of the UHA) for facilitating the tourney, generously sponsoring the Novice division and Utah State University players, and hosting a first-class Hall of Fame banquet.  Mark your calendars for the upcoming UHA singles (April 2020) and the Aces WPH Pro Stop (May 2020), both coming up in SLC at the Sportsmall.